Poets logo

Imagine this.

Fleeting moments.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

We met in the spring of 2016, I distinctly heard a bell ring. I closed my eyes and there you were, all smart in your Army gear, with a personality that lit up my room.

O’h how we would talk for hours and then you would repeatedly take me on your army tour..out of the barracks , bombs exploding everywhere; felt like I had shrapnel in my hair.

I would hold you in my arms and rock you as you as you held your head, shell shocked and forlorn, I will never leave you on your own.

We would sit with our back against the wall, chat about how many have lost their lives in this war. I know you died the moment you felt they took your medal due to a tumour that would take you to heaven. But you will always be brave and a best friend to me.

I am writing this letter to let you know, it’s okay to finally let go.

The hours we have spent with our back against your graveside stone, don’t forget that you are never alone. Please believe me wh I say ascension day is but only a bell away, we all walk the path that leads to the pearly gate, don’t forget Brother Peter awaits. We became this Couple in this Novel, Gone with the wind until even water could not pass through us, we will meet again I’m sure of that and with you I would tie the knot, you make me want to wake up in the morning, spend all night laughing and help our countrymen like a couple not in mourning. I wish Margaret Mitchell was here to witness and wonder what even she would make of it. Im sure she would make a novel of the full story of it. Time now go pack your kit, we are off to face what you fear the most meeting some who loved and adored you for just being you the most. Grow, learn and don’t you dare eve forget to include me in our round the news of worldly affairs.

Until then you carry on the great cancer breaking new ways in the spiritual realm and when it’s my time we can finally have privacy, for laughter, singing, dancing and just being silly .

my dearest friend do not ever change,

Always be you.

love always from one best friend to another

Dawn.

vintageinspirationalfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.