Poets logo

Illumination

Clarity is Crystal Clear

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Illumination
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

I fell asleep last night

feeling heavy

spending hours as I

tossed and turned

through all the

layers of my sheets

Draped in judgment

cushioned safely in

unwanted opinions

and projections —

Who w/could I be

when I give

this shame away?

Peeling back the

first, only foreign

remains revealed

underneath the

surface.

Years fighting within

my own vessel, a

violent voice echos

through the cracks:

“make my mind mute”

But a knowing

softly simmers in a

home of deep resilience that

serves without notice

to an owner

who is - dissonant.

Still, what’s raw burns

the palms of the

brave, who are

seeking;

so ignite me.

Blazing a brilliance

no eye will see just

where one ember meets the

core, yet “you’re glowing!”

My! a wild

inferno impassioned in

me?

Soot smudged edges

enlighten, and yet I am

no dust nor ash,

I am; light.

- Illumination

inspirational
2

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.