Poets logo

illegible heart

Am I worth reading?

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Art by: Zach Smithson on deviant art

What if I told you

The pages

Of my heart

Are illegible?

That they’re cemented together

With a crimson epoxy

Formulated by the grief

That slowly leaks

Inside of me.

What if I told you

The words

Were never written

To be read?

That the invisible ink

I sink

Into the chambers

Of my heart

Is penned there to hide…

To survive inquisitive eyes.

What if I told you

The covers

Hugging those pages

Are bound

By a dungeon

Of self-preservation?

That chains hang

From the broken spine

And cuffs strangle

A naked narration.

And what if I told you

I was beyond restoration?

Would you still

Take the time

To rebind

My bleeding

Into a book

That’s worth reading?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    That was intense!

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    This is my favorite poem of yours. Superb work, very heart-wrenching and relatable

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.