Poets logo

Ignore Me

About Learning

By Andrew WallacePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Ignorance is bliss.

Why would I take this new information in?

I’m intelligent enough as is.

My last breath is the evidence.

I know enough to know I don’t known much.

That’s what the smartest man said at lunch.

I have hunches and I question a bunch.

But ultimately I‘m a half drank cup.

Curious minds prevail.

Asking a question is not how one fails.

Asking a question that no one can answer is the chance of discovery.

Solving a problem before competition is invention.

Dumb people have the least amount of problems.

Dumb people don’t need questions.

Nobody asks dumb people shit, cause they teach via lecture.

They haven’t invented a better way to explain the election.

Full cups are hard to share with.

People find it terribly embarrassing to be aware of weight they wish they never carried.

We can know too much to take bearable.

Do not be scared but be prepared to leave some air to breath.

Empty vessels settle for less.

Dumb lessons and ignorant friends.

They pretend to be offended or oppressed but really alternate their tone with the pitch of their step.

They can’t invent or question any better than what’s on next.

Choice will set you free.

Use your voice to take hold of me.

Teach me ‘bout you dreams, find your problems, solve them sensibly.

Annoy your smartest friends with the questions that they ought to teach.

And reach out to their betters when the weather is far above your head to reach.

It rains on us uniquely.

Some find comfort turning up there cup and remaining dumb under the umbrella of fun.

Some save the rain in their rainy day fund.

Some spend their optimism drinking liquid sun.

I doubt that I am any better than anyone.

But when the monsoon comes.

I do not run.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Wallace

@andrewnotlogan for Instagram and Twitter.

I’m hoping to profit from my existential dread. Maybe if I write something ~you~ find worth while my life will somehow transcend my mortal body and I’ll live on forever... but probably not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.