Poets logo

If You Prick My Vices

They will bleed too 🩸

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 10 months ago • 1 min read
1
If You Prick My Vices
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

"If you prick my vices, they will bleed too,"

I said beside my friend in the emergency room,

Bearing witness to hers, which so often steals souls away.

+

Wheeling her back, I followed in tow,

Reflecting on myself and flaws of my own,

Hoping to hold them in my hand, and grow.

+

The good teaches lessons, wise and true,

The bad teaches too, though harder to chew.

+

Healing comes from acknowledging pain,

Living means acknowledging life, again and again.

+

With the stroke of my pen, I tip my hat,

To the good and bad, sorting files in my head,

Like my friend enduring, striving forward, just the same.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.