Poets logo

If You Paint My Heart

Beholden to Green

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Heart Green" photo credit - Kathleen Thompson (Inspired by Moleskine)

If you paint my heart…

use every tint of green you see

at the beginning of spring,

when you venture back into the forest

after a long, cold, white winter.

Those same tones I hold in a bouquet for you…

not the “green with envy” type,

but, instead the “honor the earth” kind, or

the “green light” your project variety;

those heart-driven hues, tended by love.

It’s the light, lime green of a seed

that delights in your being,

that no shade hinders.

If you paint my heart

dip your brush into a pallet

that not only mirrors the colors of a sycamore, ivy, or

a simple blade of grass,

but also reflects the deep veins or cracks in

the foliage.

Those defining lines

resembling my own growth,

my breaks,

my stalls,

my stutters,

those chinks in my armor

brought on by loss,

whether it was the passing of my parents,

or those unrelenting moments

of relearning

forgiveness….of myself,

or others.

If you paint my heart…

and you happen to love me,

those threads or breaks

are where you will add the gold,

like the ancient Japanese art of

repairing pottery – Kintsugi.

You will honor my heart’s path

by emphasizing, not hiding

its fractures.

This precious metal

inclusion will elevate the reveal…

humbly, inviting you

to paint my heart

to let you in

so that your eyes may see my unique

heart’s journey as a summons

to begin seeing…embracing your own.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.