Poets logo

If you don’t love me, please leave me alone!

I had been struggling with my own relationship for quite some time.

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished about a year ago 2 min read
If you don’t love me, please leave me alone!
Photo by Abigail on Unsplash

“If you don’t love me, please leave me alone!” I had been struggling with my own relationship for quite some time. I loved my partner deeply, but I couldn’t shake the feeling that they didn’t love me in the same way.

I found offered some advice on how to deal with a relationship if you don’t feel loved. The first piece of advice was to communicate your feelings with your partner. This was easier said than done. I had tried talking to my partner about how I felt before, but it always ended in an argument. Still, I decided to give it another try.

I sat down with my partner and explained how I was feeling. I told them that I loved them deeply, but that I didn’t feel loved in return. To my surprise, my partner opened up about their own struggles. They had been dealing with a lot of stress at work and were struggling to find a balance between work and their personal life. This had been affecting their ability to express love and affection towards me.

Understanding my partner’s perspective was a huge turning point for us. We began to work together to find a solution that worked for both of us. We started by focusing on the positive aspects of our relationship. We would take the time to appreciate the things that we loved about each other and the reasons why we were together.

Setting boundaries was another important step for us. We realized that we needed to prioritize our own emotional well-being. This meant that we had to be honest with ourselves about what we needed from our relationship. We set some ground rules about how we would communicate with each other and how we would handle disagreements.

Of course, not all relationships can be saved. If you’ve tried everything and your partner is consistently unwilling or unable to meet your emotional needs, it may be time to move on. It’s important to remember that a healthy relationship is a two-way street. You deserve to be with someone who loves and supports you just as much as you love and support them.

Unfortunately, despite our best efforts, my partner and I were ultimately unable to meet each other’s emotional needs. As much as it hurts to say, we made the difficult decision to go our separate ways. While it wasn’t the outcome we had hoped for, we both knew it was for the best. Sometimes, no matter how hard you try, a relationship just isn’t meant to be. But that doesn’t mean there’s no hope for love in the future. By learning from our experiences and continuing to grow as individuals, we can remain open to the possibility of finding the right person for us.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • C.Z.about a year ago

    Agh, communication can be so difficult but it is always better to communicate than to let things fester. Well done ❤️

  • This is Excellent Advice and Great writing 📝 ❤️😉❗

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Thank you for sharing you inner thoughts Emily. It is so true sometimes people must part ways.

  • Bruce Curle `about a year ago

    Interesting, and thank you.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    At least you both talked it out, and decided Together . 👍

Emily Chan - Life and love sharingWritten by Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.