Poets logo

If Walls Could Talk, They'd Tell Us Our Prisons Are Failing Us.

Our prison system was meant to reform and protect society, but instead it creates a cycle of injustice.

By Naya LizardoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
2
Photo by Matthew Ansley on Unsplash

If walls could talk, I’d tell you of broken dreams, of a justice system that's not what it seems. For too long, I have been a silent witness to the daily struggles of the inmates, a silent observer of their pain and despair. A silent reminder of the injustices within and of the broken system that allows me to exist. I have remained silent for far too long, for behind me, lies a system that has failed us all.

If walls could talk, I would tell you of the injustice of our prison system. I have heard the cries of the prisoners, the shouts of the guards, and the sounds of overcrowding. I've felt the dampness of the cells and the coldness of the nights. I have seen the prisoners denied basic rights, watched as they were degraded and mistreated. Everywhere I look, I can see the evidence of the harshness of incarceration and the inequality of the social structure.

If walls coult talk, I would cry a tale of woe of overcrowded jails and prisons where none should go. A tale of violence, inhumane conditions—a place so wretched, a place of no redemption. I have seen the guards ignore the pleas of innocent men and women, and I have seen them suffer in the cell blocks. I've seen the pain of families and loved ones torn apart, and the powerlessness of the incarcerated.

If walls could talk, I tell you stories of those behind bars whose lives are changed by their scars. I’d tell of people, not of crimes, and speak of how we've failed them more than just sometimes. I've seen the suffering of those trapped behind me, and the systemic inequalities that keep them in prison. I've seen the results of the racism and discrimination that are hardcoded into our criminal justice system.

If walls could talk, I would tell you stories of those who had been wrongfully convicted or unfairly punished for petty crimes. I would speak of the pain of those who had been forgotten or lost in the system.

If walls could talk, I'd scream in anger and fear for a system that's so broken, so unjust, and so unclear. For I have seen it all—the tears, the pain, the suffering. Not long ago I held a dream, and now I’m filled with cries of silent screams. Cries of the prisoners in search of a way to make their voices heard and have their say.

If walls could talk, I would cry out for a system that's failed, that has forgotten the meaning of justice, liberty, and truth. A system that has forgotten the meaning of rehabilitation, education, and reform.

If walls could talk, I would be a loud reminder of the struggle of those who had been pushed down by the oppressive hand of power. I am a wall that yearns to be heard, my plea for justice, my cry unheard. I want to speak of dreams and hopes deferred and of a system so broken and so absurd.

If walls could talk, I would cry out of sorrow. I would cry out loud for a system gone astray where lives are taken and futures are denied. Where justice is forgotten and rights rebuffed. I have seen prisoners come and go, but I never got to tell them I was sorry for their plight.

If walls could talk, I would call for change, for equality, and for reform. I’d plead for mercy for prisoners trapped in a system so cruel. I’d beg for justice to be served and for the silenced to be seen and to be heard.

I am a prison wall, I stand tall and strong, a silent witness to the dark and wrong. My mortar is hard and cold, my voice is never heard, though if walls could talk, I would tell you stories of injustice and hurt.

By Naya Lizardo

inspirationalsocial commentaryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Naya Lizardo

Travel addict, writer, knowledge enthusiast and poetry dabbler. I write about relationships, mental health, and social issues.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Your story is very insightful and thought provoking! Unique perspective of a prison wall! Such a unique and poetic format for you to start each paragraph with “If walls could talk”, except the last.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.