Poets logo

If the Shoe Doesn't Fit...

Freeform Original Poetry

By Andy MaudlingPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Picture courtesy of Annie Geddes: Check her out for amazing artist commissions!

Feet moving faster than my eyes dart around.

We didn’t start the war but we didn’t make a sound.

I lay awake at night;

I toss and I turn.

The paths that we take;

The bridges we burn;

They point us one way.

They’ve lead us to this.

My thoughts turn to black,

As they poison your kiss.

I lay and I think of the words that you said.

The lies that you told to get into my head.

The words that you spoke,

Became promises broke.

This cannot be real;

It must be a joke.

Lavender bushes;

They nibble my feet.

The life I have lived,

Has been a defeat.

But I push on and fight, for the ones that I love.

If the shoe doesn’t fit, then I’ll find you a glove.

If you like my content, please check out my site - Andy Maudling Writes - where I try to post regular original poetry;

Or please consider a small tip—All help is sincerely, greatly appreciated!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andy Maudling

I write a blog called Written Word on Wordpress - which I mainly publish poetry. I struggle/cope day to day with severe mental health issues & generally love to write and discuss.

Please consider leaving me a tip!! All are welcome!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.