Poets logo

If the multiverse theory is true

...

By SouluminosityPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
If the multiverse theory is true
Photo by Jongsun Lee on Unsplash

If the multiverse theory is true, then we’re already married with kids in another dimension.

For every fight, we had about small things because compromise wasn’t always on the table,

the atoms of our anger transcended into the atmosphere and morphed into something calm,

Morphed into our energy in another dimension, explosions of laughter and love-filled bellies.

Sometimes, I’d peer off into space in the depths of my loneliness and see us in the cosmos on a kayak somewhere in New Zealand,

your big eyes even wider as we cross through white waters, my big nose, even bigger as it spread across my face along with my splitting smile.

Maybe when your energy left me and all that was left was your physical shell, your spirit was searching for this parallel universe.

You were never gone, just searching.

Never gone, but so distant.

Did you find what you were looking for?

The universe is equal give and take.

So when I think about that night with my bags packed, vomit still in between my teeth, and you, pleading with me to calm down,

I think about me,

swishing mouthwash as you’re putting the kids in the car for a family picnic,

bags in your hand and me, praying that you have the energy to make it down all those stairs.

And if the universe is equal give and take, that means that maybe, just maybe, things had to end in this dimension for things to blossom in another.

And this gives me some kind of comfort.

Because I meant it when I said I’d sacrifice my entire life for us to be together,

even if that means giving up our bond in this reality.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.