Poets logo

If That Is The Case

Meditation Under The Sun

By YonathanJPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
2
If That Is The Case
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

Funny how time works.

Here I am, basking in the sun once more - the winter, gone by as quickly as it came. Overwhelming me is a feeling of END, a door closing, the curtain falling, and despite knowing and preparing myself for years now I still tremble, I still spiral away in fear at the prospects of the unknowable future, of the maelstrom of days towering over me, of the incessant torment of people and circumstances..

What can I do, really, but laugh as I try my best and still struggle aimlessly, amidst a sea of despair, emerging in panic to gasp and take in the blissful temporary relief that is air, elusive moments of respite-

Swimming, crawling, inching forward on the barren wasteland that is the PATH. My life, crossing by chance and never meeting again other ignorant fools, other disillusioned bastards distracting themselves as they walk forward, onward, convinced that the many hands they hold are truly there.

That the dreaded, the despicable, the evil LONELINESS is fended off, until inevitably and to everyone's despair the bonds, the love, the very hands they hold either withers away and rot or leave without a second thought.

Sooner or later these ignorant fools will be forced to realize amongst the gluttonous sea of hopelessness that not only are they alone - tiny, vulnerable, insignificant - they always were!

The warm hugs and the bright smiles the unending evenings of laughters and the secretive cries of confidants; all lies, all mere shouts across the distant ocean separating the lone islands that we are.

Mere echoes on the barren walls of a cave, barely reaching foreign ears. Mere LIES desperatly embraced and faithfully believed, for loneliness cannot be the state of existence, it must not be!

If that is the case, the world is far too frightening to face alone.

If that is the case, perhaps death shall reunite me with my loved ones?

If that is the case, let us hurry up and die at last, to flee escape bury oneself amidst the dead leaves, all the more convinced that indeed, we are but tiny mice, mere larvaes, microbes even, crawling about, clutching at life, incarnations of the struggle of nature-

IF THAT IS THE CASE, then the act of living is bravest of all. Hold your head high, and walk along your path with courage, for those that choose life are the bravest of all!

ProseStream of Consciousness
2

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Dance through life, because we are born to die and dying is a lonely personal adventure. 😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.