Poets logo

If Silence Could Sing a Song

By 96-Zest Doe

By 96-Zest DoePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read

If silence could sing a song,

It would utter that my brain is wrong.

When the voices say I don’t belong,

It would tell me just to sing along:

“Be calm and be quiet

The voices are violet

Destructive and violent

They never are silent”

It seems like a paradox,

To sing until my thinking stops.

But to overcome this rumination,

I have to comprehend my situation.

A dozen regrets,

Gave way to ten thousand threats.

They tell me that I am dead,

Although it’s all in my head.

But that doesn’t matter,

My reality is scattered.

It only ever returns,

When silence voices concerns:

“Be calm and be quiet

The sunlight is violet

The dark, can it manage?

To repair the damage?”

Pleasant sounds morph into screams,

So I scream until my nightmares dream.

I drown them out so I can breathe,

And now I breathe my breaths with so much ease.

"Silence is grand

Like heaven holding my hand

And when I fall into sleep

Serenity is my new keep"

sad poetry

About the Creator

96-Zest Doe

My name is 96-Zest Doe, born January 1st, 1871. I have returned from a posthumous existence to finish an important collection of stories, documents, and proofs. The best has yet to come.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    96-Zest DoeWritten by 96-Zest Doe

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.