Poets logo

If, In the End

the destination wasn’t the point

By Maria Shimizu ChristensenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
If, In the End
Photo by Everett Bartels on Unsplash

Then maybe the clichés,

the tropes,

the platitudes,

were true

and it really was the journey

and every road

every fork

every path

not taken,

mattered,

as much or more

than the ones

that passed beneath my feet,

dusty, gravelly,

well-trod,

and worn,

even though

some of them

led to beautiful places,

because tourists

sometimes get it right,

and I have sometimes

been a tourist

in my own life,

taking snapshots

of the big moments

while important

little things

happened off camera,

I might have seen

if I’d changed

my focus,

my shutter speed,

to something both

panoramic

and

microscopic,

but sometimes

I got it right

and captured

the right road,

the right place,

the right time,

even when

it turned out to be

a dead end.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer living my dreams by day and dreaming up new ones by night

The Read Ink Scribbler

Bauble & Verve

Instagram

Also, History Major, Senior Accountant, Geek, Fan of cocktails and camping

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.