Poets logo

If I Go First

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2

If I go first

And I think I might

If it seems I’ve left you behind

I promise that is not true

I promise that I will live on

Just vibrating to a different, yet holier beat

You may not see me with your eyes

But your heart will know I am always here

So, baby, you must have a faith

So true and strong

As we both wait patiently for the

Time we can glide and dive together

Through the celestial oceans of eternity

Just keep your heart aware and open

And listen for my words spoken quietly

In the wind blowing gently just out of reach

And live your life to its fullest

But always, always, always know

That when you need me

Just close your eyes and

Whisper my name

I will be there.

I will always be there

I have always been there

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Jane Edmonds7 months ago

    This was nice as well. Thank you for sharing.

  • J. Delaney-Howe8 months ago

    The last three lines....i felt that as a parent. Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.