Poets logo

If Doors Could Talk

And like life, doors have a story and here’s what they would say:

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photographs by Katlyn Campbell

The doors of downtown Tucson are nothing less than a colorful array.

This hidden gem in my hometown is a magnificent display.

With red, orange, and turquoise in a radiant bouquet.

A reminder that we are all unique and beautiful, each in our own way.

And like life, doors have a story and here’s what they would say:

I have seen hellos and goodbyes on a Sunday in May.

Kisses and hugs welcoming family for the holiday.

I have seen smiles and tears, and someone go their own way.

Someone coming and someone going, someone saying “hey”.

“When one door closes, another opens” is what they say.

So, say thank you to the open ones who lead you here today.

Learn a lesson from a closed one and trust that life will be ok.

And like the doors of downtown Tucson, stand out, don’t be cliché.

Go and paint your door with the colors that make you, you.

I welcome all who choose to walk through.

And here is my story, filled with a color and a clue.

A door painted purple is for friends that go and friends that stay.

A door painted red is love for my family who make up my DNA.

A door painted green is enjoying the beauty of nature each and every day.

A door painted blue is for the days I cry and need to pray.

A door painted white is a blank page for all that’s yet to come my way.

A door painted black is for dreams at night that will not lead me astray.

A door painted yellow is me saying “today” instead of someday.

Yes, good times and bad they will happen that’s true.

But sometimes miracles can happen out of the blue.

Like a call from a friend or an “I love you”.

But if life is grim and glum change your point of view.

And if things don’t work out, here is something you must do:

Go buy another gallon of paint – and look at that! A fresh start and something new.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Katlyn Campbell

Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

IG: @katlyn.campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.