Poets logo

If death was my lover

I would see the world differently

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Önder Örtel on Unsplash

If death was my lover I would learn to live

While holding it close

Cherishing every day I was able to breathe

I would travel with death every night when I go to sleep

Giving it my full attention

A chance at what we could be

🥀

If death was my lover I would learn to love

So deep to a point of no retreat

I would lean close and whisper in its ear

Telling it about how much its presence

Has taught me to value life

And that I was no longer afraid

There’s a reason it’s part of my life

🥀

If death was my lover, it would be my best friend

No longer an acquaintance

It would help me plan out my life till the very end

I would be more focused

and not waste time

Putting my efforts into use to bring value to mankind

🥀

If death was my lover, I know I would be spoilt

With chances to enjoy the beauty in the world

We would dance as if life lasts forever

Allowing myself to be free

From worries that burden me

Death would be within reach

It would always be waiting for me

🥀

If death was my lover I would learn to be patient

There’s no point in rushing when you can live in the moment

I know that death would eventually marry me and take me away

I am unsure of the date

Death is keeping it a secret and making me wait

When that day comes, I will not be surprised

Because what death doesn’t know is that

I’ve prepared everything, including my vows

...

Thank you for reading! This piece was first published here.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ali SPWritten by Ali SP

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.