Poets logo

If Black Was a Country

If Black Was a Country

By Joseph JunePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

If Black Was a Country

Oh My Fatherland

How thy green white green turned a whiter shade of pale

It is to us all a misery and

If continued, there won’t be a greener shade till thy grey

All morning the sun springs up

As I leap from my bed

Hoping if He’d changed at all

But then the day is still black and not red

My heart just spilled onto the floor

What has happened to the hope coz

I saw rays of red last night as I closed the door

Of all the colors, the rainbow chose to blacken us

Judging from how dark it seems

From whence will this whitened rays spring?

There won’t be light at the end of the tunnel it seems

Even if we wait from autumn to summer and to spring

The truth about colors I wouldn’t know,

But in it’s favorable doubt I believe

They are so many rays of color, yes I know

How then are we in a hive so dark that no bee could live?

Although I may not know all,

But I’d prefer a red letter day

Even if the said day is colored hue

It’s more preferable to a black letter day.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Joseph June

Come, discover the true Nigeria with me

Each story is true story about my country and my people.

Being poor has double meaning.

One is to live in poverty.

The other is to live without hope and dreams.

I have hope and dreams.

Therefore I am rich.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.