Poets logo

If

Leave Him

By Torri ZimmermanPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

If mom died

Would you take him away from me?

My little brother

Ruin the life that my family has built after you abandoned us.

Do you remember that you have a son?

Blonde hair,

Blue eyes,

Autistic,

Kind,

and with a temper

but we still love him just the same.

Patience that's what you need

Do you have that?

Be able to repeat the same thing 20 times.

Be able to keep a routine and not switch it around.

Be able to comfort when he gets teased at school/park just because he is different.

I can't count the number of times I have stood up for my little brother and told the other kids off

The number of times he has cried or has gotten frustrated over things.

Will you be able to comfort your Son?

When you don't know him

Do you lie to people?

When they ask if you have any children.

Do you admit?

Or do you pretend we don't exist or just my brother?

All I can ask is that you leave him where he is to go.

Please don't take him away from me

I love my brother and don't wish him to go with somebody that he doesn't really know.

You may be his father on papers but never a dad

A dad is there for everything and never leaves!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.