Poets logo

Identity

free flow of poetry on my thoughts on the self

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
19
Identity
Photo by benjamin lehman on Unsplash

Who am I?

thoughts swirling forever in my mind

never finding answers in this grind

for who I am and who I’m meant to be

pain pulsating endlessly

mentally

...

Entity

...

Identity

-

Existing in nature reluctantly

following rules and set glossaries

for living life as they let it be

society

enclosed within this fallacy

-

Our existence is persistent

gluttonous and malignant

amenable but capricious

righteous

wicked

kindness

twisted

...Human...

-

Many forms we don when we leave home

disguised by whatever is needed

underneath, the missing self sits alone

awaiting the identity we conceded

to break free from societal pressures

sets of guidelines made by others

to form thoughts in minds and smother

any form of self and free thought.

-

What is it to be a human?

so many facets to life reflect who we are:

what we like and don’t like

what we do when in strife

how we act with others around against

how we act when nothing surrounds

that is quite profound...

am I truly myself?

or am I putting on airs while compressing under my shell?

social commentary
19

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer David6 months ago

    Your diction is fitting. And your ideas flow seemingly effortlessly. Well done!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is so deep and so moving!! Magical writing and very deserving of Top Story. Congrats!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Wow Mohammed, this was such a great thought provoking poem! It was insightful and a great cause for some self reflection on my end. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    This was beautifully written

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    first of all, CONGRATULATIONS ON TS... now, I love this poem and the thought behind it. I decided, years ago to just be me. I now carry the attitude that if people don't like me, they can ignore me... many do and it's their loss, not mine. (I'm not really a grumpy old lady, just someone who decided to stop pleasing everyone)

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    So many great questions, thoughts, and observations! Love how your poetry always gets me to sit and ponder, stretching my mind in new ways. Great job, Mohammed! 💫💞💫

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.