Poets logo

Identity

Who am I? Why?

By Hannah RosePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Who am I today?

I can’t tell you,

for I do not know.

I know exactly who I am this way

I’m not pretty or am I?

I’m not smart, or am I?

Yous decide.

I’m confused, broken, fix me.

I'm lost, find me

Why do I let society define me?

Ah, i can’t define myself.

Who am i today

I am who you want me to be.

I’ll wear the mask of society

Please tell me who I am

so that I may know.

We hide behind the mask

We respond not when they ask

Who are you? We laugh.

How can they not know?

Don’t you see the words on the tag?

Today I am pretty.

Tomorrow I am smart.

I beg of you please,

write my story on my heart.

Oh dear sweet society,

Thank you for who you’ve made me.

Thank you for what you’ve given to me

But most importantly thank you for what you’ve taken away

Thank you for the lack of freedom to express myself publicly

Thank you for the control you have over my life now

Since I never had any on my own.

Draw on my mask a smile today,

For your control has made me happy.

Today I am pretty.

Tomorrow I am smart.

I beg of you please,

write my story on my heart.

art
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Rose

All of the photography on my posts is my own. I am a different kind of artist, I cant draw, but I see the world through a camera lens, and write from that perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.