Poets logo

I Wrote Your Name On A Page

I Burned It All Away.

By Carol TownendPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
I Wrote Your Name On A Page
Photo by Maxim Tajer on Unsplash

There was a fire raging within me,

And it went on for years;

Pain trapped inside my heart,

Long after the day, we decided to part.

You put me in a box of conditions,

Where you controlled me with manipulation,

Dangled me on a string,

So the world would never hear me sing.

One day I woke up,

And I saw through your little game;

Don't you think it was a bit lame?

You expected me to fade away,

But, yes I had my day.

I took my control back,

I took center stage;

And I wrote your name on a page,

And in a fit of releasing my rage,

I burned it all away.

social commentaryslam poetryheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D-Donohoe12 months ago

    Beautiful imagery

  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    🥰💌✍💖

  • ❤️‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.