Poets logo

I Wonder what the Unmasked Believe?

A POEM about social distancing and wearing a mask

By Justiss GoodePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo: Writer/Author Justiss Goode

While I don't write an awful lot of poetry or consider myself a poet, sometimes I get in a mood to express myself in a different way.

That's what happened during the midst of the COVID pandemic, and there was so much controversy about social distancing and wearing masks.

Who would have thought we'd still be dealing with these important issues nearly two years later.

The following is how I chose to express what I was feeling at the time.

I Wonder What the UNMASKED Believe

I Wonder What UNMASKED people really believe

The ones who sneeze and wipe it on their sleeves.

The ones who cough into the air we ALL breathe.

I wonder what they could possibly believe?

I Wonder why the unmasked think that it's their place

Not to social distance or respect someone else's space

They want to assert their own rights, but they're all in YOUR face.

I wonder what makes them think that they own the damn place?

I Wonder what the followers of a liar must think

That in spite of common sense, a known poison they can drink

And no matter what the lie, they just click his Twitter link

What really must those brainwashed people think?

I Wonder what the unmasked people really believe

They spread vicious lies for their offspring to cleave

Spew hatred and bigotry from morning to eve.

What kind of world must they perceive?

I Wonder how the unmasked people really must feel

When they deny science and claim it's not real

They claim they love their families, and country, but still

Not wearing a mask shows how they truly feel.

I Wonder why the unmasked act the way they do

To feel good about themselves they have to feel bad about you

They hate the black and brown but stand up for the blue

But if their loved ones were being killed I wonder what they'd do?

I Wonder what the unmasked people really and truly believe

When they see the signs of racism finally start to leave

When eyes open up and lies no longer deceive

Then what will the unmasked finally concede?

I wonder...?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Justiss Goode

Old crazy lady who loves to laugh and make others smile, but most of all, a prolific writer who lives to write! Nothing like a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.