Poets logo

I wish

The past is a good blueprint

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
I wish
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

I wish I knew I was in the good old days, before I realized I’d left them.

I wish I had been wiser with the time that I was given.

I wish that I could turn back the clock, relax and enjoy the journey.

I wish I could have seen exactly where I failed and lost me.

I wish I knew what I know now, that I was ALWAYS good enough!

That I would have defended myself like I would have someone else.

I wish I had seen I had the strength back then to handle things when it got tough.

I wish I could save the incomparable feeling of my mother’s hugs.

It’s too late now to wish like that, but not to late for changing.

It’ll take some time and will, and a little focused rearranging.

I can’t change what I did then, but just sit back and take a look,

I have the time to make that call;

I AM the author of my book!

vintage
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.