Poets logo

I Wish i Were a Sheep

A story for a lost friend, forever in our memories

By moonlit Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Homeland

You once told me you wished you were a sheep.

You sat back, sipped your tea,

a smile with a tint of earl grey.

You could see my cogs turning,

trying to figure out the cause of this perplexing statement.

Your chuckle now echoes in my memory,

for your extraordinary reality seemed so far from that of a sheep.

You carved out your path without asking permission.

You were in no one's pocket.

You had ripped apart the seams of your restrictions

and darted up in a technicoloured explosion.

None of us could ever comprehend the world you’d lived through.

Your eyes held wisdom I couldn't understand,

but I could see you relishing the pause.

You’d set the scene,

ready for your big reveal in a plot so simple it was genius.

You cleared your throat,

held your book up proud

And proceeded to whisk me away.

Sheep are deemed followers and simple.

Yet i feel they are greatly overlooked,

I wish for their mindfulness, for their contentment, for their simple lives.

That’s what we're all striving for isn't it? Just to be content and mindful.

I wish to be more like a sheep.

A beautiful scribbling lost in a memory of writing dates and stories of this week's love of your life.

A thought wrapped in so much love and understanding,

the best thing i will ever call mine.

You always had a way of humbling me.

Your love transcended the boundaries of society's expectations,

there was no limit to your compassion.

You were my biggest inspiration in a world that has torn so much from you.

In a world unworthy of your stories of sheep.

I know i will meet you in the country one day,

Monkey in toe,

with tales so breath-taking that even the wind can’t carry them into this world.

We will sit and giggle like we always did,

tints of earl grey and bonfire swirling.

Your pain a distant thought.

Your smile as wide as the sea.

But for now,

I sit in this forest.

Never alone,

watching you trickle through nature,

with your hand on my shoulder,

Living through your magical stories.

But oh, what i would give for just one more story about a sheep.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

moonlit

Writing about love, nature and mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.