Poets logo

I Wish I Could Be Twenty Something // Salt Wounds+Midnight Blues

And Maybe Things Would Have Worked out Alright

By Lauren DayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I could be

twenty something

so I could

be the right

girl for you.

Twenty two;

the same age

and be the

white girlfriend

with the nose ring.

Tattoos

that she's had

since you both

graduated

in what feels like

2002.

I wish I could be

twenty something

and be that girl that

you're proud of.

That you always wanted

to by your side;

who's down for the ride,

chugging beers

and calling the shots

running away from

life

like twenty somethings do.

I could have been

your ride or die.

I was willing to

too.

But shit fell through

and landed

with fights

and fury.

Built up anger

and hatred.

We were careful

with every move

we made;

like a chess game.

Making sure

that both of our

egos

weren't sacrificed

or compromised

by each other.

I hate

how I gave my

soul to you

and you

didn't give a shit

in return.

But I'm still young.

I'm still stupid.

But I'm not

stupid enough

to stay with you.

I may not be 22,

but I know better

than to be with you.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Day

i surf. i travel. i take some photos here and there. i life alot.

i think. i write. i think some more.

then something cool happens where i write until my bones ache.

end of story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.