Poets logo

I Wish

A Letter to My Students

By Janis RossPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I Wish
Photo by Jaime Lopes on Unsplash

Dear students.

I wish I could make you see.

I wish I could bring you into the future so you could know how cruel the world can be.

I wish you could understand what your teachers are trying to do.

I wish our words of warning, of encouragement, of discipline were enough to see you through.

I wish we didn't have to teach you these lessons.

I wish we didn't have to worry about mourning for you while watching court sessions.

I wish the world would see you for your talent and your skill.

I wish that the color of your skin was not an excuse that others use to kill.

I wish that you could learn through words instead of experiences.

I wish that our words would stay with you, that you would take them serious.

I wish that I could send you out into the world and be assured that you would thrive.

I wish that you would live your best life, with high goals towards which you strive.

I wish that you would realize that we want the best for your life.

I wish that others would value your life.

I wish that you would value your life.

With love, your teacher.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Janis Ross

Janis is a fiction author and teacher trying to navigate the world around her through writing. She is currently working on her latest novel while trying to get her last one published.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kimabout a year ago

    Beautiful. It's a sad reality. I wish adults would learn to be better.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.