Poets logo

I Wear Black

by Donna Raymond

By Donna RaymondPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

My wardrobe is black

All tones and shades

Black on black

Into the depths I wade.

I'm not dark or morbid

No, I'm quite bright you see

But in the shadows I am home

For in the dark I can see.

My soul is a colourful experience 

Creative, free and bright 

Though my heart is like warm sunshine 

I embody the night.

The mystic majick realms

Of curiosity and play 

The primal wild blooms possibility 

Subtle seeds cast out each day.

But those seeds are buried in the dark

In the rich and fertile grounds

Anchoring roots strong and sure 

The vibrant promise of life astounds.

I wear black to hide and stand out

A dichotomy I am true 

Tiptoe dancing on the edge

Break down to break through.

For I surrender to the unknown

Translating time and space

Creating maps from what I'm shown

Leaving a mark... a path to trace.

A story has many hues

Each perspective tints the lense to perceive

The fragments and fractals of the whole

 Defining realities we believe.

See, I wear black to remind me

Of wonders that permeates the sky

Stardust and celestial memories

The endless search for why.

My wardrobe is black 

All shades and tones

I wear it to remember 

That I am not alone.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.