Poets logo

I Was Your Mirror

And I reflected for you everything you’re not

By Jamie MartinezPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

Days in December were littered

with snow and confetti

We hastily built our world and huddled inside

Speaking our own language

Singing our own songs

Writing our own story

Our song was “I’ll Be Your Mirror”

by the Velvet Underground

What it meant was

I see you

I recognize you

I will show you how wonderful you are

As the months went on I thought it had faded

I thought it had disappeared

It turns out

I was your mirror

But in a different way

I showed you everything ugly in you

Every bit of poison inside

Everything you wish you had

Everything you weren’t

And you didn’t like what you saw

So you broke me

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jamie Martinez

Hello! I'm an amateur writer who emphasizes in exploring mental health and the absurdity of the universe. I'm obsessed with words and I love throwing them together to make sense of the senseless.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    What a brilliant piece, I'm m glad I clicked thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.