Poets logo

I Was Here

I Have Lived

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 14 days ago 1 min read
9
I Was Here
Photo by Khadeeja Yasser on Unsplash

Author's note: this is a piece that I wrote to be read out loud. If you read it out loud, read it as a declaration. That is the tone I wrote it with.

Wherever I go after this life

I want it known

I was here

***

I loved

My husband

My children

My friends

And I was loved in return

***

I laughed

At myself

With others

Many things

Brought a smile to my face

And a laugh in my belly

***

I lost

My father

My mother

Two babies born sleeping

And I grieved those losses

***

I fought

For my husband

For my kids

A hot temper

Sometimes got the best of me

Sadly I have fought with others

***

I created

Paintings of places I wanted to be

Furniture for many

Music

Writing.

My words live on

Long after I am gone

***

I persevered

Through the dark times

Through the poverty

Through things that would devastate

Let it be said

I never gave up

***

I overcame

Adversity

People who had it in them

To hurt me

My mental illness

***

I have lived

I have left my mark

I was here

Thank you for reading my latest poem. I appreciate every read, heart, comment and if you are so moved, I appreciate every tip. If you would like to read more of my work, click below.

performance poetry
9

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    Loved this!

  • Thavien Yliaster14 days ago

    Glad to see the footprints that You left in the sand. You fought against adversity and till this day tall do You still stand.

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    And what a declaration this is. Amazing.

  • Tiffany Gordon 14 days ago

    Fabulous work Jim! Very Powerful!

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    I appreciated these heartfelt and empowering words :) Just wonderful. And I did read out loud!

  • I was here! Reading your story! Well done!

  • And gosh am I glad you are here <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.