Poets logo

I was born at midnight

A poem on my beginning and what it represents

By LunePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
I was born at midnight
Photo by alexandru vicol on Unsplash

I was born at midnight,

when most people tend to be asleep -

a sign I was born to dream,

lost in my imagination, wandering in my thoughts;

a sign of a new beginning -

I came into being at the start of a new day, I am the symbol of hope

I am a brighter future, of days ahead where we smile

talk, laugh and dance for more than just a while.

I was born when days, weeks, months, years, decades even centuries turn,

I was born to make history, carry the world on my back,

or at least try to become the one

to overcome misfortune, to embody luck.

I was born at midnight,

I was born when it's darkest, and the stars shine the brightest.

This means I was born a star

to shine the brightest every day,

to always be there, even when I can't be seen, even when I seem so far away

to share my light while I still burn and still breathe 

the gasses that ignite my spark and drive my ambitions.

Not just by myself, but with others as well,

to be the one they make wishes on when they see me in the sky,

to be a sign of hope as I pass by.

I was born at midnight,

I was born when it's the quietest

so my voice could be heard.

I am loud with the words I write

fancy metaphors and imagery rushing your mind

I become an artist,

your mind becomes my canvas

painting pictures worth a thousand words;

I become a dancer,

your mind becomes my dance partner,

with the song of my poetry in the background, you follow my lead,

making sure we do not miss a single beat;

I become a book

you, my favorite reader,

taking in every sentence, every word, 

every emotion, happy and sad.

I was born at midnight.

fact or fictionperformance poetryslam poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Lune

I write about anything and everything that I think is interesting...so I really don't have a niche. That is a bad thing, or so I've been told. Check out my other works here: lune1.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.