Poets logo

I war no more

Prompted by Poppy's Challenge. Describing the savage attack on Bakhmut, Ukraine

By Salomé SaffiriPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5

Sirens

Wind Chimes

Sandcastles

Postcard

Grave

The sirens scream: “Air raid! Seek shelter!”

I'll close my eyes, And hear the windchimes.

Two women dig a grave. It’s shallow.

I'll close my eyes, and now they build sandcastles.

A notice came with writing “Killed In Action”

I'll close my eyes and think you sent a postcard.

And suddenly my terrible existence

Like watercolor, gentle and translucent

Transforms into that day we spent together.

The strip of sand, the waves, the chimes, the ocean.

You held my hand and said: "We'll live forever".

Our children digging graves, no wait, the castles..

Our children building castles!

Bells chiming! Sky was clear! Or were there heralds?

The little warnings of the up-and-coming storm?

Ill think again, this time I'll focus harder!

The beach, the sand, the chimes, the graves, the castles, your hand in mine..

There were no graves.. I've gotten

So used to seeing them, they bleed into my mem'ries. Becoming me while sirens wail in grieving.

No more.

CONTENT WARNINGsocial commentaryheartbreakFree VerseFor FunFamilyElegy
5

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Omgggg, this ripped my heart out of my chest! Loved your take on Poppy's Prompts!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Beautiful as a dream and as painful as a bloody battlefield. This is really fine writing, Salome.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    It's so poignant, I love it🫶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.