Poets logo

I Wanted

A Ghazal (almost)

By Hannah MoorePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I Wanted
Photo by Mahdi Karbakhsh Ravari on Unsplash

When I have to bend things around you

And that is not the time I wanted.

When we sit in separate worlds

And that is not the love I wanted.

When we walk and talk and don't agree

And that is not the friendship I wanted.

I turn up everyday and I fail

And that is not the path I wanted.

I approach each day in pain and limitation

And that is not the body I wanted.

The body I wanted is lithe and strong

And can take on the world I wanted.

Where I fly on my feet and play and work

And make that world I wanted.

And fill it with lovers, friends and children

Each the lovers, friends and children I wanted

To join me in living this life,

The one I always wanted.

And perhaps, if I squint and ignore the holes

I can see, I have all I wanted.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Debbi Lonmonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.