Poets logo

I Want You to Save Me, But I Know You Won't

Poem of a failing relationship

By Nathan CharlesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I can’t do this anymore

I thought you fell in love with me

At a Mayday Parade show

I tried to believe in you

But I don’t think you believe

I wish you knew everything you could be

And I tried

I tried to give you my broken world

And I did mean every word

But for some reason

You’re not willing to take

You tell me to hush

And throw us into the void

You are just a star

That is apparently too high for me

Or maybe I’m the star

A dream I wish you’d need

I just want someone to love me to death

To pick up the pieces of my silhouette

Can you hold me as I fall apart?

Cause I think we’ve wasted our time away

When time was ours to waste

I’ll still be here

When you’re on the cover

Of your rock magazines

I think I know what I mean to you

I’ll always remember

The smile across your face

As you looked down on me

From up there on stage

You tear apart the ones you love

I wish there was a way

I could tell you

Everything you mean to me

Love me, love me to death

I listen to your songs

I hear your pain

I know what you want

It’s too bad you don’t realize

I have all you need

So this is my heart

That you’ve almost broken to pieces

I want you to save me

But I know you won’t

Because you won’t know what I am to you

Until I’m already gone

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Charles

Enjoy writing sci fi, fantasy, lgbtq fiction, poetry, and memoirs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.