Poets logo

I Want to Live for the Creatures

My reason, and maybe yours, to live.

By Caleb LahrPublished 15 days ago 1 min read

I want to live for the creatures, great and small

And for the loved ones who answer my call

For family and friends, forever and true

Life's deepest meaning, each day born anew

For moments of magic sought ever after

A parent's embrace, a grandparent's smile

Love passed through generations, mile after mile

I want to live for my soulmate, my spouse

For building a life and sharing a house

Supporting each other through triumphs and tears

Romance and friendship that deepen with years

I want to live for my circle of friends

Kindred companions on whom I depend

For late night discussions and silly inside jokes

Loyalty, listening, compassion that coats

I want to live for the majestic whale

The tiger, the monkey, the birds without fail

For ant and for bee, the unnamed and unknown

Infinite reasons my wonder has grown

I want to live for all creatures so dear

And treasure those close to me, far and near

For in their presence, both massive and small

I find inspiration to give life my all

These beings remind me of life's precious worth

The love and the beauty right here on this earth

So I want to live for them, through thick and thin

Forever grateful for the joy found within

nature poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental HealthinspirationalFriendshipFirst DraftFamily

About the Creator

Caleb Lahr

Welcome to a realm where reality blurs and magic beckons. My stories weave the fantastic with the familiar, reflecting a deep understanding of the human condition shaped by my background in human rights advocacy and legal research.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake14 days ago

    It was absolutely brilliant, Lahr! Wonderful and reasonable reasoning ☺️. I subscribed you to give my support and if you like you too can subscribe me😊.

Caleb LahrWritten by Caleb Lahr

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.