Poets logo

I’ve got a dollar tip

Feeling ecstatic. I had no idea that receiving a $1 gift from a complete stranger would make me so happy

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Original drawing by the author Irina Patterson

I've got a dollar,

not from an employer or my lover,

not even from my papa or my mama - 

from a stranger, a complete stranger.

It was for a poem that I wrote that day and posted on my site.

Right then, I noticed that my purple couch appeared to be brighter.

All around me, I sensed the sweet scent of gardenias and

tasted the flavor of dark cherries on my tongue, without eating any.

"What's the matter?" I said to myself, smitten by all of the sensations.

And suddenly, I felt like dancing too! What? WHAT?

Unable to resist, soaring in joy,

I launched into my solo ballet performance 

all by myself,

and somewhere in the middle

of my seventh pirouette,

I thought about

"How many of us, adults, do remain forever children 

equally delighted to receive a dollar, a flower, or jellyfish, 

as a sign that what we have done does matter 

and it counts?" 😊😊😊

* * *

Dear Readers, thank you for reading! I write mostly about love and the meaning of life. Feel free to share stories with your loved ones. I also read my writing at public events as a professional performer. Special Thanks to Pamela Mayer — my tireless friend, editor, and collaborator.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.