Poets logo

I've Been at Home

A poem to love and the people who define that word.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
5

I've been at home on the big wooden porch

in my parent's backyard.

We had photoshoots there, and parties,

long, heartfelt chats when it was dark.

Me and my best friend doing a vintage photoshoot in my parent's backyard.

There's where I spent my early mornings alone,

it's where my family played.

The place where I'd always come home to

at the end of the day.

I've been at home in a Bookstore,

oh, there's where I spent my years.

Coffee with friends, or my place to be solitary.

My safe solace where I shed many tears.

I had a permanent spot at the coffee bar,

My order they already knew.

I now walk similar aisles with my son,

old memories being made brand new.

I've been at home amongst vitamins,

a time, no actually it was two.

Some of the best times in life were spent

working at those grocery stores with you.

I've been at home in a Dojo,

A place to just be me without fear.

And I'm so happy we found our way,

making memories and making them here.

I've been at home in a classroom,

making things I never would have dreamed.

The skills that I learned and the friends that I met

are what made college worth everything.

My college art studio

There is more to home though

than a specific time or place.

It's the people you need when it's dark.

Home is where your family is,

it's those who know and have your heart.

For me, it's my best friend's laugh

and it's definitely my husband's tight hugs.

It's our kitties dancing at our feet

and watching Totoro with my boy, all snug.

But mostly home is wherever we are,

my family, and my friends.

Home is together and home is here,

Home is never having to pretend.

______________________________________

If you liked this poem, read this one next:

Thank you so much for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. If you really liked this article, tips are greatly appreciated! You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.