Poets logo

I used to be blue

by Sherry Blevins

By Sherry BlevinsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to be blue –

cold and afraid…

afraid of my truth,

my light,

my love,

my power.

I used to be blue –

frozen among the others like me

afraid to speak,

to dance,

to dream,

to sing

And then I saw that to be frozen

wasn’t living at all.

So, I decided to let go of the blue.

I decided to find all the other colors in me,

the colors that longed to be free

to dance,

to dream,

to sing!

And I let them shine for all the world to see.

And when I did, I discovered that to be blue

was never really me,

It was only what I thought the others wanted to see.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sherry Blevins

Sherry Blevins is a music educator, conductor, clinician, and more recently, an award-winning lyricist and composer with Hinshaw Music. Sherry lives in Huntersville, NC with Ruth, her wife and partner of 33 years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.