Poets logo

I Used to Be A Writer

A Poem

By Samantha ReidPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to be a writer

Once upon a time…

I used to spin a story

Line for every line

There used to be a fire

Deep inside my soul

That drove my pen on paper

Pushing to a goal

Now I sit and ponder

Where those days have gone

I wonder where that writer is

What did I do wrong?

Where is the wandering mind?

Where are the endless dreams?

The questions have all quieted

But is it as it seems?

Does the writer ever die?

If it lives inside your soul?

Can you rekindle that emotion

Like flame when given coal?

Is just a sharp poke needed

To spur the sleeping beast?

Do you wait for it to happen

Or egg it on at least?

I used to be a writer

And perhaps I still am

Waiting for some inspiration

Something to say I can

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Reid

I have been a creative writer for over 10 years, an academic for 7 years, and a blogger for 3 years. Writing is my passion and it's what I love.

Follow me on Instagram @samreid2992

Find me on Twitter @SgReid211

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.