Poets logo

I Thought That Was Home

As I grew up, I realized where my true home was.

By Laura GrayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2022
4
I Thought That Was Home
Photo by Camila Cordeiro on Unsplash

The house on a hill

Was brown on the outside

With white, and red stained trim.

I thought that was home.

My bedroom walls were wood paneled

With carpeted tiles on the ceiling

I loved the built in corner desk.

I thought that was home.

My cousins lived across the street

My grandma and grandpa too

In a house that was barn red.

I thought that was home.

I can still see every room

With my mind's most photographic lens

I thought that was home.

Life changed quickly when

Just shy of a teen

Mama remarried and we moved;

Life would never be the same.

I quickly learned it's not a house

That makes a place a home.

For ever since we moved,

And that shelter was taken 'way

I knew it was my loving mom

Who would forever be my stay.

When life saw me married

And I moved out of that house

No place life could find me in

Felt homey without her around.

When mama passed two years ago

That sense of safety went too,

For when she left she took

The best and loving home I knew.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Laura Gray

Coffee gets me started; my toddler keeps me haggard.

I've always had a passion for writing but fear has stopped me from sharing my work with anyone. Vocal is my push to step out of my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Laura Gray is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.