Poets logo

I Thought

A poem about moving on and finding comfort in a friend.

By Catherine BurfordPublished 3 days ago 1 min read

“I thought he was the love of my life.”

“I’m sorry that he wasn’t the one.”

“I thought I was going to be his wife.”

“There’s only so much you could’ve done.”

“I thought my single years were finally over.”

“Not everyone gets it right on the first try.”

“I thought that I wouldn’t die a loner.”

“I’m sure you’ll find love before you die.”

“I thought I’d have a life by the time I’m 30.”

“You can have a life without being married.”

“I thought the loneliness would no longer hurt me.”

“I won’t let it hurt you as long as you’re with me.”

Friendship

About the Creator

Catherine Burford

I'm just your everyday Autistic Artist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Catherine BurfordWritten by Catherine Burford

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.