Poets logo

I THOUGHT IT WILL LAST

MY THOUGHTS THAT DAY

By Layla AmzilePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

I once believed this moment would endure,

For just a fleeting second, I was sure,

But in a heartbeat, it came and went away,

Leaving a lasting mark that's here to stay.

I forgot our vulnerability, it's true,

Assumed forever was what life would do,

Then like a lightning bolt, the wave did crash,

Taking loved ones in its blinding flash.

Families torn, husbands, wives, fathers, and daughters,

Sons vanished beneath the relentless waters,

Before it struck, I thought it wouldn't pass,

But then reality hit, like shattered glass.

My thoughts that day, constrained and small,

Now I wonder if I'll think the same at all,

No more time for pondering, it's clear,

Action is the call, and we must steer.

Life spins on, with thinking left behind,

It's time to act, no more room for the mind,

In this new world, we must stand tall,

For what remains of life, we'll give our all.

heartbreaksad poetryfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Layla Amzile

Hey, I’m LAYLA . I grew up in MOROCCO, I speak Arabic, fransh and English. I love backing and editing . I’ve always wanted to improve my English writing so now that I have the time, I’ve finally signed up for vocal.media to try to improv.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    I enjoyed the rhymes and images

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.