Poets logo

I think you know

As Ted Lasso says “leave things well”

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

I think you know

It would’ve been good to chat

To set the record straight

Maybe a one off coffee

Nothing as fancy as a dinner date

The only thing I do regret

Is leaving a pleasant acquaintanceship

In a ugly heap

That did not sit well with me

I hated the energy around us both

We needed to reset

Had other things worked out as planned

We would have done, I bet.

Do you really need a friend like me?

Or I one like you?

Need isn’t the right word

People come and go

But like I say …should have had that chat

And left things as they should be

A kind farewell

And remember what was good, hey?

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gillian Lesley Scott is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.