Poets logo

I Tend To Overthink

A Poem For Those Imprisoned By Their Own Minds

By McKenzie KeathleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
I Tend To Overthink
Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

I tend to overthink.

My mind floods with thoughts;

Thoughts of words unsaid, feelings unexpressed,

Scenarios that are never to be to far and distant memories,

I think of it all.

The thoughts keep flooding in until finally,

I sink beneath the think.

I tend to overthink.

My mind becomes a prison that I condemn myself to.

I am inmate number One And Only,

Confined in the penitentiary that is my brain.

My thoughts are prison guards; loud and cruel,

And there to intimidate me into silence.

For my thoughts know that if I talk about my thoughts,

My lifetime sentence inside my mind may be commuted.

I tend to overthink.

I overthink about the fact that I overthink,

To the point that I think I couldn’t possibly overthink anymore,

But then I overthink by thinking I’m overthinking,

By thinking I couldn’t possibly overthink anymore.

I’m Sorry,

Did that hurt your brain?

Mine too.

I tend to overthink.

I gain new insecurities, ruin relationships,

And wipe out all chances of mental stability,

All because I overthought.

However, I still find myself hoping for peace of mind.

(I say as I overthink about my chances of having a restful mind).

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

McKenzie Keathley

Just an aspiring writer looking to connect with people through my creativity. 💚

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Skyln Grace2 years ago

    I can relate to this so much! it's so funny how one world could send our whole world spiraling into a million thoughts of what of could of meant.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.