Poets logo

I take it back

a poem

By Maegan BeanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I take it back

We used to share everything

You and I.

Now all we share is a name,

On a dotted line.

I give…

Gave

You all I could.

And you took…

Gave

More than necessary

More than I asked for

More than I ever wanted.

Gave

Your opinions

Of me

My friends

My books

My clothes

My thoughts

My SELF

And you took those things that I offered

Freely:

My body

My time

My loyalty

My effort

My HEART

And you took those things that were not on offer:

My independence

My self-assurance

My esteem

My laughter

My SOUL

And now that I see it,

I can finally say:

I take it back.

ALL of it.

When I say I take it back I don't mean that I regret it

Not at all

It was beautiful and sweet

It was pure and simple

Once.

What I mean is that I reclaim those bits

That I somehow let slip

They are mine

And I take them

Back.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.