Poets logo

I still feel small, standing by the ocean

Randy Baker's June prompt

By Novel AllenPublished 29 days ago 1 min read
I still feel small, standing by the ocean
Photo by Caique Nascimento on Unsplash

In reverence to the vast expanse of the universe

Beneath the glorious clouds I stand

I am but miniscule wisps of microcosmic neurons

Peering in awe beyond the distant horizon

I exist between the moments of my yesterday

Navigating the precipice of quietude into my tomorrow

The vastness of the unknown beyond the ocean and clouds

Reminds me of the delicate, time-woven nature of my existence

Would that I could eschew my destinations beyond the stars

When at last my spirit goes dancing into the unknown

I envelope myself in life's breathtaking peace and tranquility

Embracing my transient sojourn in this magnificent moment

AI

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The chosen words.

Destinations. Yesterday. Stars. Clouds. Miniscule. Dancing. Wisps. Horizon. Beneath. Quietude. Unknown. Peace. Expanse.

........................................................................

The prompt

inspirationalFree VerseBallad

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    Wow! That turned out just fine. Very inspiring.

  • Tiffany Gordon 27 days ago

    Stunning work No No! So Beautiful!

  • Absolutely love this ❤️👌☝️

  • M. A. Mehan 28 days ago

    Beautiful!

  • A beautiful poem and a strong contender 👌🌟☺️

  • Oh novel it is a profound poem!

  • Shaun Walters28 days ago

    Beautifully done! Favorite line was “ I exist between the moments of my yesterday “

  • Luksi Bayou29 days ago

    This is beautiful, Novel Allen! I was captivated from the moment I read the title because I also feel small when standing by the ocean, and sometimes I go to stand by the ocean so that I can be reassured that I'm a tiny particle on earth. Your imagery in this piece feels peaceful and honest.

  • angela hepworth29 days ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Whoaaaa, this was so profound and magnificently written! I freaking loved it!

  • This is really nice

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.