Poets logo

I started a joke...

"... which started the whole world crying."

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dedicated to 'The BEE GEES' from 'That Girl Muse'

"I started a joke, which started the whole world, crying."

I'm listening to this album and the lyrics aren't lying. This song sounds like the soundtrack of my strife. And, I just want to thank the Bee Gee's, for giving me a title, for this poem... And for saving my life.

"I started to cry, which started the whole world laughing."

And, even now, I'm still wondering what I did wrong, in a previous life and why all this shit is happening.

I can feel the pain, of this world, so deeply. I can feel it writhing. People are dying, from a man-made virus, and there are politicians, lying. Families with lost loved ones, struggling with a broken heart. And, so many people, torn apart.

Luckily, I have my writing, to keep me going, including my art. Even music, like this, reminds me to keep going...even when the world is tearing me apart.

"Until I finally died, which started the whole world living."

People started to care about each other, instead of war, money, greed, and simply, 'having'. Everyone looked to the sky and took their hands from over their eyes. Finally, everyone could see, through all the lies. There is no difference between you and me. That's what they don't want you to see. Wiping the tears, from our grief-stricken eyes. We could see the stars, and more importantly, see that this world, isn't ours.

We could finally see that the joke was on us.

And all this bullshit's an unnecessary fuss.

We started a joke, ''that living wasn't enough." And that life is less joyous when things are rough. But, I'm here to tell you that, life is about more than stuff. You don't need scores of money and a lot of shit for living to be enough. And yes, it's not easy. Life does get rough. But, fighting to live, is what keeps you grateful, as well as, tough. And, loving one another, should be enough. Remember time flies. Just ask Barry Gibb. Because, he and I know, the joke doesn't last forever, and the laughing, eventually dies.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.