Poets logo

I sleep soft and slow

Falling

By Basketball Town News Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I sleep soft and slow
Photo by Lux Graves on Unsplash

I drift off to sleep

so soft and slow

To meet the fair and happy night:

Her white brows on the dark wild hill,

Far over the silent waters play,

Linger, at my first kiss at my approach.

Each year and life grew suddenly,

Swift as the sparkle of the dancing water,

Shone on the snowy beauty of the morn:

Her soft young hand and sunny eye,

Ripples the night in soft summer air,

Titanic shapes to my desire;

We raise our faith again,

Rose like an soft music in the distant air;

Bring the dark power to my way;

To see our blood with blood for blood,

E'er the brown otter flew,

Laid by the light of the cottage side,—

Ever beside the pass in your night,

For steeds may ere ye like her rear,

Leashed with broad sunlight before her tread,

Laid on my couch the little waters play,

My eye on thy calm skies.

Those pure of air, the pure immortal smile

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Basketball Town News

Basketball News all day, every day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.