Poets logo

I Sleep Alone

No More Battle Cries

By Dan R FowlerPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Like

I Sleep Alone

I felt a fluttering in the wind upon yesterday,

A vibration some would offer, a silent voice did say.

It began in some unknown field or place far away,

And pushed its way across time, I even feel it today.

Some have said it’s just my imaginary friends speaking,

Trying to contact me or share with me what I’m seeking.

Yet, I’m not so sure that that is the case, this truth I’m told,

Because I’ve felt the same yearning deep down in my soul.

It’s been said that there are more things unseen than seen,

Many things we can not explain, injuries from head to shin.

It’s said that life is not always kind and battles make us strong,

I’m not convinced this is true after fighting all day long.

I still feel exhausted, no more engagements to be had,

And lay back in my poppy field, where many souls are sad.

It’s the Flanders fields and illegible markers that I see around me,

Echoing stories, battle grandeur, and some lackluster carvings I read.

Once more the voices begin, this time crying out loud,

No whispers for ears straining to hear, but trumpets upon clouds.

It’s at this time I realize what I should’ve known all along,

That my final battle has been fought, and I sleep here all alone.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.