Poets logo

I Should Have Been Born a Boy

A Poem

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Carlo Navarro on Unsplash

Do you know that feeling you get

When your cry gets stuck in your throat,

And it thrashes and tries to leap

Forward up your voice box

Desperate to get to your mouth for release?

Well, that's how I feel right now:

Because I was reminded by my mother

That I should have been born a boy.

When I was little, I yearned to manipulate time

In order to mould my genitals to something with more substance

After I somehow saw the cards of my life laid out on the table.

But I can't play

Even though it's my life.

Culture does it in my place,

Binding the ropes of expectation to my limbs

and by the end of the game,

Stitching my lips together too.

At the age of twenty-one I am still a puppet

Chained to the home

And locked in the kitchen, serving

The family who eats not only food,

But my hope too.

The boys are full yet unsatisfied,

And I am starving for unconditional love.

They say everything comes with a price

But I see no freedom in my life

As mother bends down to kiss my brothers and feed them

With everything which has been leeched off me

I remember once again

That I should have been born a boy.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.