Poets logo

I See You

No more

By Robin EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I See You

I see you

quite clearly

sneaking up on me

acting with bravado

like a desperado

smiling oh so earnestly

trying to steal the best of me

I see you

I see through your fake apology

your badly disguised masked misology

your wickedness

your viciousness

your favor to maliciousness

asking for my dying trust

but we’ll never be an ‘us’

I see you

fooling someone else again

lying about where you’ve been

begging them to let you in

pleading for another chance

trapping them in love’s blind trance

I see you

getting old and weak one day

no one caring what you say

living in the slow lane

dealing with your own pain

just a shadow of a shallow man

without a clue or backup plan

karma finally cashing you out

I see you…

nothing left to care about

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Robin Edwards

Robin is a veteran, having proudly served in the United States Air Force. She worked as a speech therapist for several years before retiring. She enjoys writing, working on art, and margaritas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.